How I heard about Kid Rock

I was in my late teen age years when the beastie  boys arrived on the scene in the mid- nineteen eighties so white rock rappers were nothing new to me. But when I first heard an artist going by the name of “kid rock” being introduced to me through the music video “Bawitdaba” from the devil without a cause album in 1998 I was hooked. I admired his brash in your face style the I don’t give a flying f about what anyone thinks about me, reminiscent of punk rock and other high level genres from the 1970’s and 80’s.

So I began to study and research the man that goes by the name kid rock, the first thing I found out was his real name is Rob Ritchie then his birthday took me by surprise turns out that we both share January 17th as our birthday although I am five years older. I knew there had to be a reason why I found myself fascinated with his music and him as a person.

Although his claim to fame started with rock rap he branched out in other genres such as country and southern style rock. According to “Wikipedia” his 1998 Album Devil without a cause sold fourteen million copies world- wide he is a five time Grammy Award nominee and has also sold twenty five million albums in the U.S according to “Nielson Sound-Scan”

I don’t see him fading into the background anytime soon because he appears to have a lot of stamina and is not a one hit wonder or some cheesy pop star created on you tube who may or may not last in the long run. There is only one kid rock.

Posted on October 3, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

