Exposed to Film

For the past few weeks I have been watching quite a few of different films, so I haven’t really watched much television in a while.

One of the films I watched over the weekend was “Dear John.” I believe the theme for this film would be to show the difficulties of being it a relationship while one of them is overseas and is always gone. Showing also the love that they have for each other and trying to make it work by writing letters to each other to stay connected. Now there is also one more theme that is throughout the film, it’s not necessarily showing the difficulties but showing what it’s like dealing with autism and how it is being autistic. While it doesn’t necessarily state this or show it, it’s hidden in the context. One thing I enjoy about watching these is that I always watching the Special Features after the film. They show interesting videos and give in depth showing of what its like making the film. Showing behind the scenes action of some of the things they did while making the film and some of the purposes to why they did some things.

Another film I watched over the weekend was “Rocky.” Written by and starring Sylvester Stallone,  showing what it’s like for a boxer living in a low income neighborhood trying to figure his life out. It also shows the motivation and determination you need to accomplish and achieve one’s goals. When I watched the special edition version they had an opposite disk for their special features and it was interesting seeing how they pulled off this low budget film in such short time when they hardly had anything to work with. The film was made in the mid 1970’s, in a time when they didn’t have much equipment to work with. Not like today’s time where they actually have equipment they can train on and work with.

In a way this type of media can influence you, depending on how you look at it. Over the years the way to make films have advance and become more technological. You’re able to add more effects and edit it more differently than you could in the 1970’s.

I don’t really know why I decided to watch these films. With “Dear John” I read the description and it looked interesting so I decided to give it a shot and I really enjoyed it. With “Rocky” it was more of the fact that I saw the recent film in the series [Creed] not knowing it was part of the series. So I just decided to get the collection and watch it from the beginning, which I’m actually starting to enjoy them, I started watching the second film in the series and it keeps getting better.

There are so many issues that these films could touch on. I’m honestly not sure where to begin  but I do recommend watching them and then checking our the features at the end.

About mankow94

Performer. Strong in Faith.

Posted on October 24, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

